Changing Domino Transactional Logging Style

Different backup strategy/software can lead to the need for changing the Transactional Logging style on a Domino Server. There are basically two possibilities for doing this.

Possibility 1

  1. Disable Transactional Logging on a Domino Server.
  2. Shutdown Domino.
  3. Start Domino
    1. You should get a message: “Transactional logging being disabled after this restart”.
    2. “NLOGASIO” or “LOGASIO” should not start.
  4. Rename or delete the Transactional Logging directory.
  5. Restart Domino Server to confirm there are no errors.
  6. Enable Transactional Logging and set the Transactional Logging Style option you want.
  7. Restart Domino and again confirm there are no errors on the console.

This is a subtler approach, although this takes a considerate amount of time, you can make sure there are no issues before letting your server back into production. You can also keep the old transactional logs if by renaming the Transactional Logging folder.

On the downside, a consistency check will be run on every database opened, for the first time, and a new DBIID will be assigned. This can take a lot of time depending on the size of your databases.

Possibility 2

  1. Change the Transactional Logging style.
  2. Restart the Domino Server.
    1. If you are changing from “Archive” to “Circular”, you can delete or move the old Transactional Logs.

After this, no consistency check or database fixup is will be done and the databases keep their old DBIID.

Here are some useful URLs about Transactional Logging:

General Information

Best Practices

How to clean corrupt Transactional Logs

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s